Feed

By M.T. Anderson

From Goodreads: Spending time partying on the moon and riding around in his “upcar,” Titus is an average teen of the future, complete with a computer chip implant — the “Feed” — that lets corporate marketers and government agencies broadcast directly into his brain. Then Titus meets Violet, and an anti-Feed hacker shuts down their Feeds for a short time; but when Violet’s Feed is seriously damaged, she begins spouting some radical ideas.

Why it’s my type: This is one creepy read. It’s got a language all its own, but the world is scarily, slightly familiar. Believable. Anderson spins a tale of an eerily ignorant society: one in which big corporations have taken on the U.S.’ struggling educational system. And in this world people are not just rarely unplugged, but never. What happens when anything you could possibly desire is instantaneously tracked and filed, and you’re presented with consuming solutions before you can blink? What happens to expectation, mystery, privacy, individuality? What happens when the idea of silence and having time to think, alone, is obsolete?

Recommendation: Pick this one up to find out. It’s all very meg fascinating.

Standout Script: “Then one day, when her mother had left, and I needed work, I was at a job interview. I was an excellent candidate. Two men were interviewing me. Talking about this and that. Then they were silent, just looking at me. I grew uncomfortable. Then they began looking at each other, and doing what I might call smirking. I realized that they had chatted me, and that I had not responded. They found this funny. Risible. That a man would not have a feed. So they were chatting about me in my presence. Teasing me when I could not hear. Free to assess me as they would, right in front of me. I did not get the job. It was thus that I realized that my daughter would need the feed. She had to live in the world. I asked her if she wanted it. She was a little girl. Of course she said yes. It was installed.”

Published: 2002 by Candlewick Press.

Leave a Reply

