Story of a Girl

By Sara Zarr

From Goodreads: When she is caught in the backseat of a car with her older brother’s best friend – Deanna Lambert’s teenage life is changed forever. Struggling to overcome the lasting repercussions and the stifling role of “school slut,” she longs to escape a life defined by her past. With subtle grace, complicated wisdom and striking emotion, Story of a Girl reminds us of our human capacity for resilience, epiphany and redemption.

Why it’s my type: This is a book of small victories. Mistakes, and simple gestures. Betrayal, and unexpected friendship. Desperation, breakthrough, and growth. All the while trying very hard to be deceivingly scant. And even though she wouldn’t believe it, Deanna will stick with me for a long time. She’s not a character I could effortlessly immerse myself in, but still, she’s someone I recognize, and I’m glad to have been able to experience her perspective.

Recommendation: I suspect many girls could relate to what Deanna goes through, and find comfort in her company.

Standout Script: “‘What about her? She’s the one who left!’

I turned back over and looked at Darren. . . ‘Did she say sorry?’

He looked down, picked his Safeway jacket up off the floor. ‘Yeah. But I don’t know if that’s enough.’

‘What else is there?’ . .

‘Well, you know, she has to, like, prove that’s she’s going to be a good mother and not do that again.’

I handed him a pair of socks out of the pile on the bed. ‘Like Dad wants me to prove I’m not who he thinks I am?’

He took the socks from me and held them in his hands. ‘I’m not like Dad.’

‘If you say so.'”

Published: 2007 by Little, Brown and Company.

Leave a Reply

