Pretty Little Liars

By Sara Shepard

From Goodreads: Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic, sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back?

Why it’s my type: I will admit becoming hooked by the addictive show before picking this up. Since it’s recently gone on hiatus, I decided it would be a perfect time to check out the book series, while I mourned its temporary departure. 🙂 I said I was hooked! Everything about this series is just delicious. I would say guilty pleasure except I really don’t feel guilty at all reading it. It’s easily a day’s read, perfect for this time of year when the warm days are just inching ever closer to summer.  And I loved every second of it!

The mere (though clearly it’s not mere, as proven here) idea of a group of friends having grown apart and gone their separate ways, then being almost inevitably drawn back together is such an excellent concept. Imagine there being a reason for you to reunite with a younger–once inseparable group of friends, once again being able to keep the most dearly-held, inside information among you? And yet keep the reunion within a few years, so they’re still in high school. It’s genius. I am in awe of Shepard’s powers of (and insight for) captivation.

Standout Script: “In tandem, the girls read their texts out loud. Each said the exact same thing:

I’m still here bitches. And I know everything. –A

Recommendation: At the school library where I’m working, I had two girls come up and engage with me about this book, after they’d noticed I had it. It was great. Unfortunately, this library doesn’t carry it. And I think we may be really missing an opportunity to draw teenage girls in there. It only takes one book (or sometimes series) to get the ball rolling on reading for people. I recommend both the series, and the TV show. Love them both, and I can’t wait to devour more of these this summer.

Published: 2006 by HarperTeen.

Leave a Reply

