The Princess Diaries

Goodreads Synopsis:

She’s just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…

News Flash: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that’s why a limo meets her at the airport!)

Downer: Dad can’t have any more kids. (So no heir to the throne.)

Shock of the Century: Like it or not, Mia Thermopolis is prime princess material.

Mia must take princess lessons from her dreaded grandmére, the dowager princess of Genovia, who thinks Mia has a thing or two to learn before she steps up to the throne.

Well, her father can lecture her until he’s royal-blue in the face about her princessly duty—no way is she moving to Genovia and leaving Manhattan behind. But what’s a girl to do when her name is Princess Amelia Mignonette Grimaldi Thermopolis Renaldo?

Why it’s my type: WHY. Oh why, did I wait until now to read this book? I’ve seen the movie–scratch that–make it, movies a million times. Or so. At least, I’ve never turned one off if ever I’ve come across it on TV. Especially the first one. But of course I know from experience that the books are always better. And this was another shining example of that rule.

Memorable bit(s): My boyfriend–who I shall hereupon be referring to as R if I ever happen to mention him on here again–making the comment, “This book scares me. There’s too much pink.” Ah, but that’s the ironic part! I told him. She doesn’t want all the pink; she is not your stereotypical, princessy girl. Only about 1/3 into it, I was already quite defensive.

I’ve been basically dying to read Meg Cabot ever since I discovered her blog, began following her on Twitter, realized her amazing greatness but have been feeling as yet unworthy of joining into the conversation about it since I was only a measly movie watcher. And as I’ve read, and observed, the movies are oftentimes most different than their book predecessors. Finally I can say with wholehearted honesty that I really get why Meg Cabot is the bomb. Or, as R’s father once said, “A bomb.”

Voice. Perhaps it has something (very small) to with the fact that I had seen the movie before, many times, but I heard–literally heard–Mia the entire time. I heard every nuance in her voice, and I knew her like we’d gone to high school together and had been best friends for years.

“The book was called I Think My Name Is Amanda, and it was about a girl who woke up from a coma and couldn’t remember who she was. This really cute boy comes to visit her in the hospital and tells her that her name is Amanda and that he’s her boyfriend. She spends the rest of the book trying to figure out whether or not he’s lying.

I am so sure! If some cute boy wants to tell you that he’s your boyfriend, why wouldn’t you just let him? Some girls don’t know when they’ve got it made.”

That, people, is a voice. And her story is exactly the kind of devour-able one I’d been craving. I ate it up.

There are many other innumerable things I could say. It was laugh out loud funny, every other character’s story was both hilarious and believable at the same time, it made me wish I’d kept a diary throughout all of high school that I could have now compared with it, I wish I knew Mia. It goes on and on.

Suffice it to say,  (See Below . . . )

Recommendation: I highly, highly recommend it. I can’t wait to pick up the next in the series. And, Anne Hathaway did a really good job capturing Mia. That is all.

Publish date: April 1 2008 by HarperTeen.

4 thoughts on “The Princess Diaries

  1. I’m probably a bad person, because I have never read these either…I really love Meg’s Mediator Series, and her Heather Mills Mysteries, but I skipped right over the main important Meg Cabot series. I take one big series I missed out on over the summer, and usually focus on getting through it in a few weeks, this might be the pick for that!

  2. Sounds good! I’m trying to get to know some of the ‘greats’ of YA, or so I’ve been reading…Like Meg, Maureen Johnson, John Green..Those two are coming up next (soon) for me.

  3. Haha, I was thinking shame on you for not reading them earlier, but also good job for finally getting to it. I realize that it’s really odd coming from a complete stranger, but I just trawled the internet trying to find if that romance novel really existed (I’m re-reading the series for the zillionth time). It apparently doesn’t 😦 I think I have some fan-fic material now, hehe. Also, have you read any other Meg Cabot books?

Leave a Reply

